HELPFUL HOMEWORK SITES

HOMEWORK
Ask Dr. Universe - From Washington State University...answers questions on many topics.
Ask Jeeves for Kids - Search engine that uses natural language algorithms. Also searches Yahooligans and Education World.
High School Ace - Detailed reference collection with monthly features.
Homework Spot - Links by subject for all ages.
Yahooligans.com - Yahoo for 8 - 14 year olds.

MATH
Allmath.com- For elementary and middle school...flash cards, metric conversion, multiplication tables, etc.

READING and WRITING
Bookhive.org- Great lists of books of all genres
Funbrain.com - Spelling games for elementary children
Kidsreads.com - Reading suggestions, games, and activities

SCIENCE
Madsci.org- Ask a scientist archives for elementary age
National Geographic World - Web resources for science experiments
Your Science Fair Project Guide - Web resources for science experiments

Seussville—the official home of Dr. Seuss on the Web—is the place for children of all ages to play and learn with Dr. Seuss’s wonderfully whimsical books and classic characters. The Cat in the Hat, Green Eggs and Ham, Oh, the Places You’ll Go! and all of the Dr. Seuss books leap to life through interactive games and activities that will enrich each child’s reading experience.

Dr. Seuss believed that books and learning to read should be fun and exciting for children. The site maintains this spirit of fun and honors the tenets of his work: discovery, imagination, and creativity. Visitors will explore the lush animated environments as they uncover a wealth of games and information, including a comprehensive Dr. Seuss character guide, a searchable Dr. Seuss book catalog, biographical information, educator resources, parent tips, and more.
http://www.seussville.com/?home#/home/


2016 LADYBUG PICTURE BOOK AWARD

THE WINNER IS:

It's Only Stanley by Jon Agee

"Fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers will love this mischievously funny read-aloud from award-winning author/illustrator Jon Agee. Mysterious noises keep waking up the Wimbledon family...." Google Books








 

READ-A-THON KIDS

You can hear a pin drop when they're into a good book! We run Read-aThons a couple of times a year...on Friday eveings when the library is closed to the public. Lots of pizza, lots of reading and lots of fun. 4th, 5th and 6th graders on one night and 7th graders up on another. Check calendar for next dates.

     

  

 


THE STORY NEVER ENDS WHEN YOU READ WITH FRIENDS

                

GOOD TIMES, GOOD BOOKS, GOOD FRIENDS at the MPL


LEGO LOVERS & MORE

WE MEET 3RD WEDNESDAY OF EACH MONTH...JOIN THE FUN

  For 5 year olds up...come see what you can construct.  Legos, K"Nex, Nano Bugs and Snap Circuits!

FUN THINGS TO DO IN THE CHILDREN'S ROOM